Fishbowler

I make art in strange places and blog about it.

Oh I’m Sorry, Did I Steal This From You?

Baboon and Young by Pablo Picasso (1951) - Con...

who's monkey is this?

I’ve stolen the following reference material from online sources. Did I steal one of these from you?

I’ve been searching for images to include in my paintings here at the Car Forest. I’m looking for things that have some meaning for me. A lot of thought is being put into the theme that most of these cars will fall under but I’m not pressing that matter too much. It doesn’t matter what I paint, as long as it moves me.

Some of my inspiration is coming from TV. We like the alien shows. One of these shows was talking about the art that certain ancient cultures made, and they talked about how they would only paint what they see. This was the statement made to infer that aliens visited long ago. The ancient drawings and designs of gods did, indeed, look like space suited folk.

I’m thinking of light, I’m thinking of monuments and I’m thinking of figures, mankind, religion, belief.

An important aspect of my work is for others to be included in the evolution of the creative act. I want to invite you in to my mind. I want you to inspire my mind.

Seriously, did I steal any of these from you? Where’d you steal from?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Good artists copy; great artists steal,”-Pablo Picasso

“One of the surest tests [of the superiority or inferiority of a poet] is the way in which a poet borrows. Immature poets imitate; mature poets steal; bad poets deface what they take, and good poets make it into something better, or at least something different.” T.S. Eliot

Picasso: Good Artists Copy; Great Artists Steal:

http://www.businessofdesignonline.com/picasso-good-artists-copy/

Leave a Reply

