Fishbowler

I make art in strange places and blog about it.

NadaDada? Belligerent?

NadaDadans on the Balcony

Image by Art Domagala via Flickr

The motel world is a transient world, it leaves room for a little belligerence, but SHOCK, not being our goal.. naturalism is, I think. Authenticity, truthful, obnoxious reality, misspellings and badly placed punctuation. I’m against the fantasy of the sterile gallery, as if art exists on its own plane. That don’t do it for me.. I wanna know who made what and how and USUALLY it’s a pretty fucking interesting story straight from the horse’s mouth.

NadaDada is to be the opposite of a governmental oligarchy or plutocracy or anything hierarchical using any kind of coercion. We don’t believe in dangling carrots or papers bequeathing you with officialdom, in fact.. there is no we. To jury shows and to ‘set standards’ I do believe will never be part of nadaDada.

We’re about getting ourselves the closest we can to ‘no restrictions’. We’re about giving this thing away, letting ANYBODY in that wants the work-and anyone who’d like to SEE the work. It’s artists at work.

I only say so much because I think so much about this subject. I want to build something with you.. then again, I want you to do your own thing, regardless of me. That’s what I want. I want us to be a group of individuals, not in text only or on name plates, bibliographies-no! I want to see each individual being an individual and doing it differently each year. I want to see conflict and peace, we’re presenting a world here.

It is of more interest, perhaps, in what NadaDada is NOT. We are not an imposing force, we are an inclusive force. Being in motels, as we are, we have almost unlimited growth potential in every city-this is our beauty. We are not asking for the best artists, but ALL artists to come out of the woodwork and make themselves heard, in any way they see fit. Even ‘jurying’ is allowed if that’s the way someone conducts their room.

The model is as simple as this: Each artist pays a motel or venue normal rates to open a temporary gallery, performance space, whatever, in a room. It is that direct. The date and times are the only other things you need to know to be a part.

You’ll need to promote your room because it is YOUR art show. We are all doing our own parts, and believe me, all the flyers of varying types and promotions of unique flavors do NOT hurt anyone here. Oh, you’ll have to have a sales tax permit to sell art; you don’t if you don’t. Talk to those people about that.

This year, as always, the 3rd weekend of June, Reno does NadaDada. Las Vegas’ first NadaDada will be this year, 2012, the weekend of May 4th.

Please subscribe to my posts to be updated further, or email me with a question. We have a fan page AND a group page on Facebook.

Involve yourself, belligerently, if the spirit moves you. NadaDada.

bigfishbowler@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

