Fishbowler

I make art in strange places and blog about it.

Free Range Life (a poem)

Fishbowling on Sunset by Lauren "Lemon" Randolph, 2011
I lived in this house
with this life
a wife
it was placid
 
I broke from that
to dig up
chaos & strife with
drama & friction
some would call
life
 
Wandering mendicant
I would glorify
as if a monk or someone
benevolent
 
Free verse
free roam
free range cock
without a home
minimizing
justifying simple existence
home-free
do what I want
roam free
poverty
mooch? who me?
maybe
 
But I didn’t steal
(except that one time, it was a Ginsberg book)
& I wasn’t lazy
and it’s true
I was true
maybe not to you
but I was true
continuance of my mission
cultivation of motivation
I’m tellin’ you
these things are true
I was true
 
A man without means
true to his mission
an ex-patriot of sorts
ex-communication
 
Broke some hearts
& cracked some eggs
Rendered poetry from life
aliteration
 
But ya see Reverend
I was looking for
Heaven
This is not my confession
more provocation
’cause my mission is
noble
mobile self elevation
’cause you see Reverend
I want to lead the Revelation
Self preservation
the key
Artists used to be the self guided leaders of
society
 
I found all I need
my creativity

_________________

You might also like:

https://fishbowler.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/i-claudius-goldfield-journal-0/

One response to “Free Range Life (a poem)

  1. Pingback: Sorg’s Back « Fishbowler

Leave a Reply

