Fishbowler

I make art in strange places and blog about it.

Fortune’s Eagle, Silver Indian Face (a poem)

Nila, your dad
From this dog eared copy
your book
I learned of his involvement
with that thing
at Alcatraz
From ’69 to ’71
the Indians came
to rein
their island
The true bird man
of Alcatraz
Adam Fortunate Eagle
Indian son
fortunate son
momentary
they blocked the Sun
and me
the fall of 2000
Unthanksgiving
a pow wow
impromptu, alone
I ended up on that
same little island
cried a little
as a Native man
in backpack and
baseball cap
took a moment
Picture 28to chant
to commune with
his ancestors
momentary
away from the crowd
by way of the actions
of this birdman
and his clan
back then
the grace of fate
the fall of destiny
and your book, Nila
all passed down
to me
I bought a cheap silver
ring that day
to commemorate
what I lived
that morning
the fall of 2000
Unthanksgiving Day
silver Indian face.
 
 
Leave a Reply

